OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN

Los Angeles County COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

April 28, 2015

The Honorable Robert Hertzberg State Capitol, Room 4038 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 163 (HERTZBERG)

Dear Senator Hertzberg:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials share with you the goals of SB 163 which are to eliminate barriers to voting, to add convenience for voters and to increase citizen participation. However, we do not see vote by mail as the best or only solution which should be considered to achieve these outcomes. Like you, we believe that voters should have a choice of voting at a polling place if they choose but, as currently proposed by this bill, we know that choice will be unnecessarily costly, will actually decrease the convenience to the voter and will add further delay to counting of ballots and reporting results.

We would like to work with you in considering other possible routes to these same ends such as vote centers and early voting in addition to vote by mail. Further, we would like to constructively work with you on language which would make any solution effective and successful while not being unnecessarily costly.

If you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee Cory Botts, Republican Caucus Consultant Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Officium Populi - Office of the People